God In The Ordinary

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:18 NIV

Every time I visit my grandmother who is 84, she tells me at least 2 to 3 times “Erin, life just goes by too fast.” She’s been telling me this as long as I can remember, so I’ve heard it quite a few times over the years. It wasn’t until looking back at this past year that I realized how “fleeting” and temporary this life is. (Psalm 39:4) Scripture says, “You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before you.” (Psalm 39:5) Those words jumped off the page at me when I read them recently. When you’re in the trenches, living life, raising children, working, going to school the days can seem so long, but how quickly the years pass by.

In John chapter 4, we hear the story of the Samaritan woman at the well. Just to recap, if you haven’t read it or don’t remember, Jesus, tired and thirsty from a trip, sits down at a well and encounters a woman with a scandalous lifestyle. The two things I noticed in the story is that Jesus is pursuing her knowing exactly who she is and she encounters Him in her mundane, everyday chore. She came to the well for water because she needed it, but little did she know she found what was needed most.

While reflecting on life passing by so quickly, I recognized how often I live for the next big thing. The next weekend, the next vacation, I’ll say, “When my kids are a little older, I’ll do this,” or “I’ll do that next year when we have more money.” Sometimes I get so anxious because I want the next thing to be here. The danger in that is that I’m missing out on the opportunity that’s right before me. What the Lord has been impressing on my heart is that I need to intentionally acknowledge Him in the mundane of my everyday life. When I’m cooking, folding laundry, driving kids around, these are the moments I can spend with Him. I can’t say it with enough passion… WE NEED HIM! If the woman at the well encountered Jesus when she didn’t even expect it, how much more can we experience Him, when we are looking? I’m sure he’s waiting for us to just turn our hearts to Him and say, “Jesus, I love you. I turn my heart to you now.” I know I want to be a woman open to the movement of the Holy Spirit in the mundane of everyday life. I want it now in this moment not in the next big thing. It’s the process of getting to the next big thing when abundant life is truly experienced anyways.

I was once the type of person who if I didn’t wake up super early and light my special candle and sit in my special place, I didn’t feel like I spent anytime with God. Then kids happened and sacred, quiet times seemed to become non-existent. Over the last 2 years, the Lord has been teaching me that sacred times can also be while I’m folding clothes, loading the dishwasher, and playing on the floor with my children. God is present in every aspect of our lives. God is big. This is His world and he’s very present and active in it. We don’t need to invite Him in because He’s already there, but we do need to acknowledge Him and be intentional to open our hearts and minds to His presence. I’m not saying that finding space and quiet time to be alone with your bible isn’t important because these are definitely the moments He speaks to me most. But when life is chaotic and unpredictable, there is freedom in knowing we can experience Him in other areas of our life.

I don’t know the length of my life or yours or what tomorrow will bring, but I believe one day we will stand before our Creator and give account for this life. At the end of my life, I want to stand before Him knowing I gave Him my days whether it was folding laundry with Him while my children ran around or telling someone about Him over coffee. He has created life to be full and abundant and if we are living in the moment, I don’t think we  will look back and say life passed us by. What are we devoting our thoughts to each day when the chaos of life is happening? What are we fixing our eyes on? Let us wholeheartedly pursue Him  in the mundane remembering this life is temporary.

I pray you would experience God in your everyday ordinary activities and truly know Him who is present everywhere.

 

One thought on “God In The Ordinary

  1. Allison says:

    Very good word Erin. I was the exact same with my quiet time, but now with kids it definitely looks different. I also really want to meet with Jesus daily while doing the mundane. Lord help us. Thanks for sharing Erin.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

